“Happiness” or “happy ever after” or just.. “thoughts on life”

“Happiness is not a destination. It is a way of life.”

We have a postcard saying that hanging on our wall and a few months ago we had visitors.
She was my mum’s friend and she brought her four children with her. We were eating when her oldest child, a girl – I think she is about 8 years old – asked:” What does destination mean?” and her mom tried to explain it..
She said something like: ” A destination is a place where we want to go.. like when we want to go to Berlin, Berlin is our destination.”
I think we all understood, that that wasn’t really it, not this time.
So.. a few days later my mind started to wander and I started wondering how you explained tat postcard’s meaning to a child.
I came up with a solution, that is not perfect, but I liked it. I was never able to tell that child what I thought because by the time I had found a way to describe it, the girl and her family had already left for home.

“Happiness is not the sweet you get after getting a good mark for your math test. It is the mark you get after enjoying the test.”

Yes, I know, even if we enjoy the test the mark might not be what we wanted it to be and we might be disappointed. But as long as we enjoy the test and give it our all, I think it is possible to firstly write a better test and secondly accept our abilities.
I don’t think that finding happiness will make every moment of our life a happy one. I think happiness is being able to see one’s life as it is. Being able to appreciate and enjoy the good moments and being able to fight, accept and let go the bad moments.
I think happiness is finding your true self through living your life to the fullest.

I usually don’t write things like this down..so this post was inspired by the last post I reblogged, I think..here’s a link:
http://aopinionatedman.com/2014/08/20/happy-ever-after/

I should do it more often, it feels nice, I like it. Since I don’t share thoughts like that anywhere else either.

Thank you for reading!

About deslyoness

Just a thinker and writer...
This entry was posted in just stuff about me, philosophies, world's stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment